New bank scam - please be careful

4 posts
Prevent Bank Scam
Options:
Share this post on:

New bank scam - please be careful

Postby Prevent Bank Scam » Fri Apr 19, 2024 10:50 am

Hi
I mentioned this scam to Annabel earlier today and she asked me to post.

Background - I work in tech and I spoke directly to the victim in this scam, I still don't fully understand the details but I watned to share.

1. A colleague received a text asking if she had spent money in Argos in Manchester. She was asked to reply back Y/N

Comment: this is pretty standard we've all had these

2. She replied back with an N. She then received a phone call from a number that came up as her bank. It asked her to check her last three transactions on her banking app. They did NOT ask for any data or PINS etc etc. All they did was ask her to check her last transactions and confirm that she hadn't made some purchases they read out.

Comment: again this is standard and no personal details were shared

3. She THEN had a text from her bank saying £5k had been transferred out of her account. This was a genuine text from her bank

4. She then had another text from her bank, another £5k had been transferred out

5. She then called, using her work mobile, the fraud number for her bank who quickly checked her account, confirmed that this was a scam and then refunded the money to her.

When I first heard this I was sceptical, not that I didn't believe the person I was talking to, but I didn't understand how they accessed her bank account. The bank told her that the original text message had some script in it (script is a technical name for a tiny tiny program) that once she opened up the text allowed that script to run. That script enabled the scammers to have access to her phone.

THEN when she opened up her bank app to check the transactions she was actually opening the app for the scammers as they were already remotely on her phone.