Four year old's birthday party: how many is too many children!!

7 posts
cdonoghue
Options:
Share this post on:

Four year old's birthday party: how many is too many children!!

Postby cdonoghue » Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:35 pm

I am new to the Northcote road area and my child is about to celebrate his 4th birthday party. His nursery class has 40 children in it. I would like to have a relatively stress free party but 40 children seems like too much to handle. I could invite only the children at his table in nursery, but that seems like a small party (about 8 children). As my son (and I) do not know many children outside of nursery yet, it is not an option to exclude the children in nursery from the party and some nice all inclusive party venues nearby have a upper limit of 15-20 children. Can anyone offer advice?
NYE31
Options:
Share this post on:

Re: Four year old's birthday party: how many is too many children!!

Postby NYE31 » Thu Sep 21, 2017 1:34 pm

From experience, I have a 6 year old & a 2 year old, I would invite them all, some won't even bother to reply, some will say yes only to then cancel or not turn up & some won't even bother to let you know that they aren't coming.

If you only invite 20 or so, you could well end up with less than half actually there.
Last edited by NYE31 on Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Alchemy
Options:
Share this post on:

Postby Alchemy » Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:07 pm

Agree 100% with NYE31. I've never had more than 50% of the invited kids show up, and even fewer bother replying to invites (although in my experience, Paper Post invites, where you only have to click, are more reliable than invitations by email).

If you're really concerned, either say that only the first 20 people to confirm will be able to attend (but overbook -- or you'll end up half-empty), or send out the invitations quite late when most people have already made plans...
NYE31
Options:
Share this post on:

Postby NYE31 » Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:23 pm